3D ANALYSIS OF MACROSEGREGATION IN TWIN-ROLL CAST AA3003 ALLOY BEFORE AND AFTER HEAT TREATMENT

1 BAJER Jan
Co-authors:
2 ZAUNSCHIRM Stefan 1 ŠLAPÁKOVÁ Michaela 3 ZIMINA Mariia 2 PLANK Bernhard 1 CIESLAR Miroslav 2 KASTNER Johann
Institutions:
1 Charles University, Faculty of Mathematics and Physics, Prague, Czech Republic, EU, JanBajer69@seznam.cz, Slapakova@karlov.mff.cuni.cz, Cieslar@met.mff.cuni.cz
2 University of Applied Sciences Upper Austria, Stelzhamerstraße 23, 4600 Wels, Austria, EU, Stefan.Zaunschirm@fh-wels.at, Johann.Kastner@fh-ooe.at, Bernhard.Plank@fh-wels.at
3 Research Centre Rez, Husinec-Řež, Czech Republic, EU, M.Zimina@seznam.cz
Conference:
27th International Conference on Metallurgy and Materials, Hotel Voronez I, Brno, Czech Republic, EU, May 23rd - 25th 2018
Proceedings:
Proceedings 27th International Conference on Metallurgy and Materials
Pages:
1351-1357
ISBN:
978-80-87294-84-0
ISSN:
2694-9296
Published:
24th October 2018
Proceedings of the conference were published in Web of Science and Scopus.
Metrics:
38 views / 4 downloads
Abstract

Twin-roll casting allows production of sheets and strips with required thickness without subsequent homogenization or hot rolling and therefore has a high potential for industrial applications. One of the drawbacks of this method is a formation of inhomogeneous structure with central segregation. Sheet prepared from 3003 aluminum alloy with 1 wt.% Mn, 0.2 wt.% Fe, 0.5 wt.% Si, 0.2 wt.% Cu and small addition of Zr (0.2 wt.%) and Cr (0.1 wt.%) was studied by X-ray computed tomography. Segregations in the material form as manganese, iron and silicon rich channels spread in the rolling direction. The material annealed at 450 °C exhibits diffusion of alloying elements from segregations into their surroundings and formation of voids or a material with lower density in the center of segregation channels due to Kirkendall effect.

Keywords: Al-Mn-Zr alloy, twin-roll casting, central segregation, Kirkendall effect, X-ray computed tomography
Scroll to Top